Not far from Lakka port, hidden in a secluded all – green valley, far from prying eyes, we find the village of Grammatikeika, where one of the oldest and most beautiful churches of Paxos is situated, the church called “Ipapandi of Jesus”.
The church was build by two brothers, Adam and Vasilis San Ippolito in the year 1601. It is the only Byzantine – style church on the island of Paxos with a double dome and a marble made front part of its alter installed in 1901 by the Corfiat artist Evangelos Kallos. Unfortunately the earlier wooden carved one, witch was a unique piece of art war replaced by the above mentioned marble and its fate remains unknown to this day.
In 1772 a slander bell tower of Venetian style with a tapering cap or semi – dome was build close to the church. For Russian made bells are still hanging from it and when they ring, they fill the surroundings country-side with glorious melodic sounds.
In 1818 the Church of Ipapandi (Candle Mass) became the seat of the Bishop of Paxos,The vestments of Bishop Chrisanthos, who died in 1848, are kept until today in a glass case within the church.